Pharmaceutical Sciences

August 1963

volume 52

number 8

EDWARD G. FELDMANN. editor SAMUEL W. GOLDSTEIN, associate editor **ROBERT F. STEEVES.** assistant editor SANDRA SUE SMITH. editorial assistant

Editorial Advisory Board

I. H. BURCKHALTER TROY C. DANIELS GEORGE P. HAGER W. W. HILTY THOMAS J. MACEK VARRO E. TYLER, JR.

Committee on Publications

LINWOOD F. TICE, chairman WILLIAM S. APPLE GROVER C. BOWLES HENRY M. BURLAGE * HUGO H. SCHAEFER

The Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences is published monthly by the American Pharma-ceutical Association, at 20th & Northampton Sts., Easton, Pa., Second-class postage paid at Easton, Pa., and at additional mailing office. All expressions of opinion and statements of supposed fact appearing in articles or editorials carried in This JOURNAL are published on the authority of the writer over whose more they authority of the writer over whose name they appear, and are not to be regarded as necessarily expressing the policies or views of the American Pharmaceutical Association.

Offices – Editorial, Advertising, and Sub-scription Offices: 2215 Constitution Ave., N. W., Washington, D. C. 20037. Publication Offices: 20th & Northampton Streets, Easton,

dues. Claims—Missing numbers will not be sup-plied if claims are received more than 60 days after the date of the issue, or if loss was due to failure to give notice of change of address. The Association cannot accept responsibility for foreign delivery when its records indicate shipment has been made. Change of Address—Members and sub-scribers should notify at once both the Post Office and the American Pharmaceutical Asso-ciation, 2215 Constitution Ave., N. W., Washington, D. C. 20037, of any change of address.

© Copyright 1963, American Pharmaceutical Association, 2215 Constitution Ave., N. W., Washington, D. C. 20037.

The Editor comments -

BUT WHERE WAS PHARMACY?

The Commission on Drug Safety—an eminent body of recognized medical scientists established through a grant from the Pharmaceutical Manufacturers Association in the aftermath of the thalidomide incident-sponsored a Conference of Professional and Scientific Societies this past June 27-28 as its first major undertaking in discharging the responsibilities it has assumed. The expressed purpose of the Conference was to inform the many various scientific and professional societies of the responsibility which all groups share in the area of drug safety.

The activities and responsibilities of many medical and medically-oriented groups were formally presented during the Conference program by an array of distinguished physicians who are active in clinical research, education, government, administration, and industry. In addition, enlightening papers were delivered by nonmedical authorities from government and law.

This writer had the pleasure of attending the Conference as the invited representative from the A.PH.A., and was accompanied by two representatives from the A.PH.A. Scientific Section. As we listened to the program presentations, however, the writer could not help but reflect upon the fact that pharmaceutical scientists were completely absent from the program roster. In view of the fact that the charter of the Commission states that it will exist to "recommend means for expansion of scientific knowledge of the predictability of action of drugs in man," it must be concluded that the Commission does not recognize that the manner in which a specific pharmaceutical dosage form is constructed plays a fundamental role in whether or not the particular drug will be safe and effective when it is administered.

When one considers that the Commission was fathered by an industry which places considerable significance on the variations in safety and effectiveness which may be encountered in finished dosage forms of the same drug substance when manufactured by different firms, then it becomes all the more difficult to understand why this important aspect of drug safety was ignored on an otherwise very comprehensive and enlightening Conference program.

Edward S. Fellmann